If Anything

If I could take anything from you,
it would be your pain.
If I could watch you as it leaves you,
watch you understand that everything will be okay,
that alone would give me strength enough to bear it myself.

If I could give anything to you,
it would be ignorance.
If I could know that no one else could ever weigh you down,
know that you will be happy despite any interference,
that alone would allow me to cope with your unawareness of my love.

If I could show anything to you,
it would be my intent.
If you could understand that you will never have to be alone,
understand that I will always be here for you,
that alone I hope would tell you of my desire only to ensure your happiness.

Leave a Reply

