Light’s Lie

I am a moth to your flame
That shines ever so bright,
So beautiful,
From a distance.
I am overwhelmed by the way
Your light reaches out to me,
Through the fog
Of my cynicism.
How could it be
That once I approach you,
Your light seems smaller
And dimmer?
Such lies! Such deceit!
Was it only a trap
To pull me closer and closer
To simmer
In the flames, that now, surround me?
The flames that once seemed lively
Now prove to be destructive,
And I fly,
Back out into darkness,
Fleeing from you and all
Your facades, that now,
Enrage me,
As I struggle to relieve
Your intoxicants from my lungs,
And let familiar loneliness
Take your place.

Leave a Reply

