Rebirth

I don’t like snow.
It isn’t the cold either
Because I don’t like heat.
It isn’t the gray
Because I like rain.
It isn’t the death
That hangs from every tree branch.
It isn’t the seemingly absent life,
All migrated or hibernating.
It isn’t the stillness
That everyone says will never break.
It is the stillness that does.
It’s the glass that cracks beneath my feet,
So easily
Or accidentally.
It’s the pristine beauty
That I may never cross
Without destroying.
It’s the watching as,
Day by day,
White turns to gray,
And feathers turn to mud
And then tar.
It’s the feeling as
Joy and excitement,
Snowmen and hot chocolate,
Become disappointment and loss,
Melted heaps
And sickness and sorrow.
It’s as mystery falls to bleakness,
Of which, I am not sure,
How much more I can bear,
when, suddenly,
The mist clears and it’s Spring.
What trace is left of what has passed?
Am I to forget?
Am I to believe that Winter
Has not come and Spring
Has been here all along?
Am I to leave all these burdens behind me,
Forgetting that, in three seasons,
I still must face them again,
Having fallen into, what seems like,
An endless cycle
From birth
To deterioration
To death
To rebirth?

3 responses to “Rebirth

  1. It’s the pristine beauty
    That I may never cross
    Without destroying.

    and

    What trace is left of what has passed?
    Am I to forget?

    Such intense and rich character captured in a poem. It exposes your virtues and nuances, and how you dance with the turning of the seasons, and the years. I liked the mastery of language in this, the blend of vivid imagery with an outright, unadorned questioning, using the abstract concepts of sorrow, remembering, and the like.

    Fine, fine work. I just subscribed and look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

