Dance of the Sirens

The sirens sing to me
From the distance.
The varying melodies
And the changing tempos
Fill my stomach with a sort of dread
That excites me more than scares me.
All around me they scream
Like owls in the night.
The flashing lights are almost visible,
Playing on the walls,
And all down the streets,
Reflected in windows that distort them
And make them run together.
I am watching a performance.
A red spotlight,
Then a blue.
The sweet whine is growing louder
And faster.
And then, breathtakingly,
The dancer glides across the stage
Followed by another
And another.
I wish to follow them,
To know where it is they go to,
But I would never want to ruin
Such a beautiful performance
By knowing the horror that has sparked it
And destroying the wonder
It has sparked in me.

Leave a Reply

